Wednesday, 21 May 2014

Faith in Prophethood

 Faith in Prophethood

For Muslims, it is essential to know about the prophets and their virtuous qualities as it is essential to know about the supreme being and the Attributes of Allah, Most Exalted. It is also essential to have a sound knowledge about prophethood so that one may avoid wrong notions and misleading beliefs and avoid uttering anything that may amount to degradation of the Prophets. 

The Prominent Prophets of Almighty Allah

Allah, the Most High, sent down may Prophets for the guidance of mankind from the time of Prophet Adam to Prophet Muhammad. While some of them have been mentioned specifically in the Holy Quran, many others have not figured in it. The prophets who have been given prominence in the Holy Quran are: Prophet Adam, Prophet Idris (Enoch), Prophet Nuh (Noah) Prophet Hud, Prophet Salih, Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham), Prophet Ismail (Ishmael), Prophet Ishaaq (Isaac), Prophet Lut (Lot), Prophet Ya'qoob (jacob), Prophet Yusuf (joseph), Prophet Shu'aib, Prophet Ayyub (job), Prophet Musa (Moses), Prophet Harun (Aaron), Prophet Dhul Kifl (Ezekiel), Prophet Dawood (David), Prophet Sulaiman (Solomon), Prophet Zakariya (Zecharia), Prophet Yahya (John), Prophet Isa (Jesus Christ) and the leader of all Prophets Sayydiuna Muhammad. 

How many Prophet

It is not advisable to put an exact figure on the number of prophets sent down by Allah, The Most Wise, for the guidance of mankind because the opinion on this point differs. The safest way is to believe and say that Allah sent more or less 124,000 Prophets.